You are here

Audio not in sync with video

asadovnikov's picture

I have been using Adobe Premier Pro CS4 for a few months for a number of small/big projects and it worked fine. However, in the last two projects I faced a strange problem: audio lags video.

1) I captured 1hour HD material form SONY FX1000 in to PP CS4 as usual. I checked MPEG file using Windows Media Player and there was perfect sync between audio and video. Then I imported this file as an asset into PP and watched it there. The beginning of the file is O.K., but at the end audio lags video by ~1s. Same problem was in MPEG2 file after encoding. I tried to re-capture the file - no effect. Becasue editing was quite simple, I managed to correct this problem by settting audio speed = 100.025%?

2) Second example was much worse. I have compressed 1hour MPEG2 file. It works O.K. in WMPlayer. I imported it into PP and found complete de-sync between audio and video. Due to extremely bad quality of initial material all I can say for sure is that at the end of the clip audio lags video by ~13sec. It is difficult to say what happens at the begining but changing audio speed to match A and V at the end does not help in the middle. I by-passed the problem using different editor (Ulead media Pro) and produced required file.

So, what is the root cause of this effect? I admit, just before the first project I made extensive cleaning of Adobe files that littered my computer. Looks like I either deleted some important fileor made un-intentional change to PP settings. I did not try re-installing PP CS4 yet. Any other ideas?

Luis Maymi's picture
Plus Member