You are here

Advice, Tips, and ideas to help me start my video production company.

planetjoe's picture

Hi all,

I am in the process of starting my video production company and have a few questions, and I would love to hear any advice and tips from the professionals out there.

I am a professional photographer who always had more passion for video than photography, but four years ago I landed a decent job at a wedding chapel here in Las Vegas as a photographer. For many years before I was an aspiring actor and gained some experience on movie sets and the production process. the basics I guess. but the bottom line is that I am not clueless when it comes to correct exposure, composition, framing, directing actors etc. so I dont consider myself a full blown newbie. I also have basic experience with Adobe Premier.

Now with a shoestring budget (20K) I plan on starting my video production company. I am debating if I should go for a professional camcorder or the new Nikon D800. I currently own a Nikon D700 with two good lenses; 24-70 and 28-300 and I am familiar with Nikon's settings and behavior. but I plan to shoot only video.
I also need a good workstation with software, royalty free music and effects, a good lighting kit, lav mics, battery packs etc. etc. plus advertising and marketing. I am aware that I will have to sacrifice one thing for another in order to fit everything I need for only $20,000.

My start plan is to target small businesses to shoot 60-90sec videos for them to place online, their facebook page, youtube etc. I will be willing to pick up weddings for some extra cash (though I am truly sick of weddings) and will hopefully get some gigs as a freelancer for other production companies. and my goal is to grow and shoot corporate video, music video, commercials etc. all the way to my ultimate dream of shooting feature films and documentaries.
Oh and I used to own a bar long ago, so I consider myself pretty good at running a business.