You are here

A camera for FEATURE Film

pwrlogic's picture
Hello
I'm sure this question has been asked many times but here goes.
What is the besst bang for the buck in terms of getting a camera that can produce feature film quality results.
I am a music producer and i have my own post production setup for music and video.
I have written a screenplay and i'm testing the waterss on doing this porject within my own camp.
i do not know video and film gear the way i do audio gear.
i was prepared to buy a canon xl2 to start out but after reading several videomaker issues i'm considering the jvc GY-HD110U, although i do not know if either of these would be good for a low budget film.
I know the thing to do is to hire a camera crew but even if i do i have to know something about the gear.
Thanks

pwrlogic's picture
Whenever i post , no one responds.
After doing my own research and talking to several camera rental places hear in new york, i find the best bang for the buck camera boils down to these.
Panasonic dvx1oob.
sony hvr-z1u
canon xha1 or xhg1.
Sure there are others that cost more but i wanted to keep the price to less than four thousand.
Most of the rental places said that the Z1U is the hot item right now.
There are dvx's on ebay used for $1600 which look very tempting.
Any comments would be great.

Back to to more reaserch.

Ken
Ken's picture
If you're really going to do a feature film in standard definition, then the Panasonic DVX100b would be a good choice, since it can do progressive scan. There might be some other standard def camcorders that can do progressive scan, but I don't know which.

But I would think for a feature film, you'd want to go high definition. There are several to choose from. The JVC HD110, Canon XHA1 or XHG1 you mentioned would be excellent choices. The Sony HVR-A1U would be a much more affordable good choice.