You are here

1080p

oldnick's picture

Complete noob, here. Well I did use a Vidcam in the analogue tape days....just for playing about.

I have a Panasonic HDC-HS700, which can take 1080 50p video. However there are dire warnings about a lot of stuff not being able to handle this format and that I need the bundled software to deal with it...and then talk of up to 20 hours for every hour of video, to convert to mere mortals' standards.

What I would like to know is, is it that bad? By using it, am I just creating a really high quality video that I can't use anywhere?

Thanks for any help

Nick

Gregory Watts's picture

"My word Bones what have I heard?"

Sounds like someone has put the scare monkey on your back. OK .mts is an extremely high quality format that is becoming th new standard (bout' time) and yes many, many low end consumer low budget NLE do not support that format, in fact I know of only two that did at the beginning of the year Adobe's under $100 NLE and Videostudio X4. That said more may have been released. "20 hours for ever hour of video to convert" my word man what time place is you friend from? When did he buy his last computer? 1995? 20 hours, does your friends have an elevator to the moon and sit around eating cheese? No just kidding. Really this is hard to believe that someone is telling stories like this. But it is all smoke. A good NLE and good hardware will convert and render in no time flat. For a 1 hour rendering (not converting rendering a finished product is quite another story, research it) that is very involved has taken me about 4 hours, but that was when I was mixing formats, I not render formats into the same format then work and render which speeds up the process. But it sounds like these people who have told you this stuff may be family??? hoping you will not take their video???

Have fun you will enjoy your new hobby.

"A Photo Captures but a Moment in Time: Video Captures a Lifetime in a Moment"

oldnick's picture